Paris Photo LA

Image
(photo credit: http://www.parisphoto.com – because I wasn’t thinking and did not take many pictures when I was there)

This past weekend I attended the 2nd annual Paris Photo right here in the heart of LA. Paris Photo is an International art fair mostly for photographic and moving picture mediums. It took place at Paramount Studios backlot this year as it was last, and it was yet again a delightful experience.

My one regret is not being able to get to see the LAPD unedited exhibit. I would love to talk about it here, but I unfortunately was unable to get in. I could have gotten in, but I do not fair well with large crowds and long lines, so I had opted to forgo that opportunity. It was definitely much more packed this year than last year, but it possibly could have been the fact that we were there for the last day of the photo fair, and perhaps since the ticket prices were slashed by half in comparison to the previous year.

There were smaller galleries and it did not showcase as many exhibits as before, but still a good amount of worthwhile pieces were showing.

Image

Image

Image
I realized I like photos that have a lot of contrast and landscape pieces. There’s something about seeing a 5 foot photo framed across a blank wall that just amplifies that moment and place. I love that photos are taken at a very specific time and cannot be replicated over because it was a snapshot of that particular moment. That’s true for any photos, even the ones that I can take on my phone. The real beauty in photos, or at least that I feel, is that with the mixture of the right composition, lighting, and placement – it offers not only a snapshot of that moment, but also the feeling and the message that the person behind the camera wants to express.

Photos are, in a sense, so public and raw. There are definitely artists that push the boundaries of those theories and create new ways to challenge the norm. It is, however, still a very intimate dialogue between the photographer, the subject, and the audience. We’re practically being and seeing what the artist is and saw.

Anyway,

It was a lovely Sunday afternoon spent well with LA socialites and farm-fresh gluten-free super-organic-all-natural-sun-purified foods.

One thought on “Paris Photo LA

Leave a Reply

