Top 10 Favorite Films I Can Watch on Repeat

To be honest, it’s hard to watch any movies on repeat unless if it’s Harry Potter.
I figured these are the top 10 movies that I wouldn’t mind re-watching apart from Harry.

I’m a huge movie lover, so condensing down movies to a list is very difficult. The reason I decided to create a list is because someone had asked me earlier about what my top 5 favorite movies were. It took me a long time to think about it (actually it took quite a long time), and the more I thought about it, the list continued to grow.

That’s why I just wanted to keep track of what my favorite movies are to date. I have omitted Animated Movies and a long list of Chick Flicks (yet a few has made it onto this list) for another time and another list.

The following movies are not necessarily the most mind-blowing, academy award winning, nor the most critically acclaimed picture of all times, but these are movies that have been timeless to me and have a special place in my heart. So here they are, Michelle’s Top 10 Favorite Movies (thus far):
10


1. Big Fish

Big Fish is a little different from your usual Tim Burton films but it’s still licked with his familiar surreal elements. This one actually reminds me of the Notebook, if it were played out in a dream sequence throughout the entire film… and then realize Noah and Allie are just never going to wake up. When this film released I was completely breath taken by how well Tim Burton was able to convey all sorts of feelings and motifs through not only the acting but with  every inch of the scene.

mip2


2. Midnight in Paris

I would not say this is the best written nor best performed piece in the universe, but I still loved it. I’m starting to realize that I might have a “type” for movies that I’m attracted to. Luke Wilson stars as a modern aged author in Paris with his fiance, and then a whole bunch of stuff happens. This film is fun for those who love literature and art, a fiction that welds two different eras together. Getting to see Pablo Picasso, Fitzgerald, Hemingway, Cole Porter, and  all together is just really fun to watch. It’s like an Easter egg hunt throughout the movie, except instead of candy filled eggs you’re looking for some of the most influential artists of our time.

07


3. Mean Girls

On Wednesdays, we wear pink. This movie has capped off what it would have meant to have been in highschool during the new millenium. I also absolutely adore this cast, such amazing female actresses to ever have walked down North Shore High’s locker room halls: Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, Rachel McAdams, Amanda Seyfried, Lizzy Caplan. And of course, Lindsey… oh Lindsey… truly a testament of why it is important to make smart business decisions in life.

01


4. Ocean’s Eleven

Ocean’s made it to my list because of the on-screen chemistry between the cast. I loved watching every minute of this movie. I love a great heist movie, but I love it even more if it has bitingly witty lines and a band of misfit badass characters. This movie might be the sole reason why I love Matt Damon and Brad Pitt, still.

11


5. Die Hard (the series)

Once upon a time when Bruce Willis still had hair, came the best action movie franchise ever. Yippie kaw yay. If I had to choose my favorite action movie of all time, this might be it. We’ve seen these types of movies played out before, sophisticated New York bank robberies that end up being more than just a bank robbery, high speed car chases, brutal knockouts, lots and lots of explosions, men in ripped in tshirts – but you just cannot compete with John McClane, the man himself. And then you add Samual L. Jackson to it and it’s pretty much game over for this category.

06


6. Moulin Rouge

Taking a sharp turn in the other direction, my next favorite movie is another one starring Ewan McGregor. If you’ve never watched this film, I do highly recommend it. The soundtrack is amazing. It’s actually a compilation of contemporary/modern songs of our time and recomposed for this movie. Besides the soundtrack, the storyline and cinematography is also stunning. I actually really enjoy Baz Luhrmann films, he also directed the Great Gatsby (the one with Leo in it), Australia, and Romeo + Juliet (the one with Leo in it).

04


7. Dark Knight

An ode to my favorite superhero of my childhood, and of my adult life as well. Batman is the best. The end. Kidding, not kidding. Christopher Nolan did a stupendous job of really bringing in a dark and cinematic element to a vastly overdone super hero movie. The late Heath Ledger was hands down the creepiest, most charismatic, sordid villain I’ve seen in a long time. To embody a man purely based on evil intentions with no real motives besides creating a violent chaotic world for the heck of it, deserves some high recognition. Love you Heath, wish you were still here today making great movies.

02
8. The Royal Tenenbaums

I tip my hat to Wes Anderson and to his greatest movie so far, in my opinion. The Royal Tenenbaums is everything I do love about a movie, great plot, great dialogue, witty lines, great actors, visually-indulging costumes and scenery, feel-good message, all bundled with a little tiny satirical bow on top. This is a great movie and will remain a timeless classic in my book.

05

9. Roman Holiday

This was a hard one. I love Audrey Hepburn. I L-O-V-E her. Just for the heck of it, I’m going to mention the other movies I was debating between to mention: Sabrina, My Fair Lady, Funny Face, Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Paris when it Sizzles. I landed with Roman Holiday because this was the first Audrey Hepburn movie I fell in love with, and to me this is the original destination Rom-Com movie. A journalist falling in love with a princess in Italy? Eek! Gregory Peck with his smoldering eyes playing hooky with the stunning Miss Hepburn? Please excuse me while I run an Audrey Hepburn marathon.

08

10. The Indiana Jones series

I’m going to do it again with bundling a series under one movie choice. The last but not even close to being the least of my list is George Lucas’ Indiana Jones. Not surprisingly, also my favorite ride at Disneyland. I think I mentioned before that I love a good movie with great plot, witty lines, and kick ass characters. I love this series and I’ve grown up with Indie. You already know the theme song, you don’t even need to YouTube it, you already know this iconic theme song and lashing sound effects of his whip. I also want to mention that Indiana Jones is my crazy ideal version of a man. He’s smart, adventurous, sexy, funny, dorky, well-traveled, selfless, courageous, and he’s also Han Solo, what more can I say? Saving the world from evil Nazis and running away from indigenous tribes and giant rock balls is my idea of a well spent Saturday night.

So that is my list as of now, I am sure there are plenty of films that I have not thought of or had missed that may or may not replace the listed titles above. Here are some other honorable mentions that were battling for a spot:

– Rain Man
– Inception
– Starwars
– Devil Wears Prada
– Before Midnight

– Homeward Bound

I mean the list can go on forever.

Leave a Reply

